Missouri Learning Standards

  • The Missouri Learning Standards (MLS) define the knowledge and skills students need at each grade level and course for success in college, other post secondary training and careers. Missouri has regularly updated its academic expectations to help students prepare for life after high school graduation whether they are entering the workforce, the military or pursuing a degree or certificate. The Missouri Learning Standards are grade-level and course-level expectations for student learning in the following subjects:

    • English language arts and literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Science
    • Social Studies
    • World Languages
    • Fine Arts
    • Health/Physical Education
    • Guidance and Counseling
    • Career and Technical Education


    The revised Missouri Learning Standards were developed by Missourians for Missouri students and incorporated feedback from Missouri educators, legislators, academic researchers, and the public.